Open navClose nav

How to Migrate a Site to a Different Repo or Git Provider

If you consider switching to a different provider or there is an issue with your current import of your repository in Forestry, you might consider deleting your current import of your repository and importing it as a new site.

Every time you make a change to your settings Forestry immediately commits those changes to your .forestry folder in the repository. This ensures that your settings persists through different imports of the same site.

It also means that you can create a theme, boilerplate or other starter with preconfigured .forestry settings.

Most settings can be migrated without additional effort.

This includes:

  • Front Matter Templates
  • General (excl. logo, site name, url and timezone)
  • Sidebar Configuration
  • Media (excl. any type of credentials)
  • Previews Settings
  • Build Settings

There are only a couple exceptions to this rule:

  • Deploy Settings
    • Your deployment settings include sensitive information. Forestry will never store sensitive information in your Git repository.
  • Invited collaborators
    • Collaborators will need to be re-invited to the new site.

Importing your existing repo as a new site will automatically connect your remote admin to the new site and remove the connection from the old site.


Last updated on January 15, 2019