Open navClose nav

Collaborators & Teams

Forestry allows you to define how you work as teams or with collaborators. Teams are available from our starter plan.

On personal sites

Sites that are not part of an organization are personal sites. On those sites you can add up to 3 collaborators. Each collaborator can be an admin, developer or editor.

Upgrade to our starter plan if you need more collaborators.

Managing Collaborators

Admins and organization owners can manage site collaborators. From your site settings, select the Collaborators & Teams tab.

https://res.cloudinary.com/forestry-io/image/fetch/c_limit,dpr_auto,f_auto,q_80,w_640/https://forestry.io/uploads/2019/05/add-collaborator-free-plan.png

Inviting Collaborators

To add a Collaborator, click Add Collaborator, and enter the new collaborator’s email address, and select an access level. This will add a new row to the list. You can repeat this process and continue adding collaborators.

This will send an email invitation to the new collaborators to join the site.

All collaborators are marked as external on personal sites.

Removing Collaborators from a site

To remove a Collaborator, click the remove icon on the right. Then confirm the removal by clicking “Remove Collaborator”.

On organization sites

You can add unlimited organization users as site collaborators, but can only have up to 3 external collaborators per site. You can make an an external collaborator a member of your organization anytime.

Each collaborator is assigned different access levels.

Teams

In addition to adding individual collaborators, Organization sites can also add teams with different access levels.

If a user belongs to multiple teams on a site, or is also an individual collaborator on a site, this user’s role is defined by his/her highest access level.

Adding a team

To add a team to a site, click Add Team. Then choose the team from the dropdown and apply its access level.

https://res.cloudinary.com/forestry-io/image/fetch/c_limit,dpr_auto,f_auto,q_80,w_640/https://forestry.io/uploads/2019/05/collaborators-teams-settings.png

You can click on a team name to manage its members from the organization settings.

Determining access level

A user can be added to a site as an individual collaborator but they may also belong to a site through team membership or via organization ownership. When determining access level for a site, the highest level of all relationships is selected.

For instance an individual contributor that was added as an individual editor, but also belongs to a team with the developer access level, has developer access to the site. If the user is an owner of the organization they are automatically an admin on the site.

Collaborators can always sign up to Forestry and will have access to all the sites and organizations they have been invited to.

Site Access Levels

Users & Teams can be given one of three access levels. These affect what the user can do in the CMS.

Editor Developer Admin
Edit and Publish Content ✔️ ✔️ ✔️
Upload and Manage Media Content ✔️ ✔️ ✔️
Edit Front Matter Templates ✔️ ✔️
Edit Site Settings ✔️ ✔️
Delete Sites ✔️
Manage Collaborators on a Site ✔️

Organization owners automatically have admin access on all of the organization’s sites.


Last updated on March 28, 2017